yet another newbie request for help   

yet another newbie request for help

Postby timtimtim123 » Sun May 20, 2012 4:25 am

I'm a big ol newbie with updating GPS maps. I've been doing a lot of reading on your site but ultimately I realized I need a hand.

I have done the following:
[SPOILER=I have done the following]1. Backed up all files/folders from my TomTom onto my PC (including hidden files)
2. Downloaded and run TTCurrentConfig.exe
3. Read a lot of tutorials and posts on your site[/spoiler]

Specific information:
[SPOILER=Specific information]1. I bought my TomTom from an estate sale earlier today, it came with the car charger and nothing else
2. I live in the US and only care about having US maps
3. It is a TomTom ONE XL (4S00.00)
4. MyVersions.txt:
TTGO.BIF:
DeviceName=TomTom ONE XL
DeviceVersionHW=ONE XL
BootLoaderVersion=53026
ApplicationVersionVersionNumber=7130
ApplicationVersion=8476
TTGO.BAK:
Not Found...
TTGO.ORI:
Not Found...
TTNAVIGATOR.BIF:
Not Found...
5. Before finding this site I ran both fastactivate.exe and autoactivate.exe in a failed attempt to update my maps, following the information from: XXX[url=http://]http://[/url][/spoiler]

Help:
[SPOILER=Help]So in a nutshell I *think* my map update failure is because I have a very old NavCore (is that correct?). In which case I believe I need to update my NavCore to the most recent compatible one for my unit, which I believe to be 8.010 (is that correct)? After doing which I would need to download the most recent maps which I assume would be limited by my NavCore version, but I failed to find any mention of that (are maps limited by NavCore version, and if so is there a list anywhere?). Finally I would need to install the maps, which I believe I understand: copy them into the corresponding map folder of the GPS file system, run autoactivate/fastactivate from the root, then remove and restart the GPS.[/spoiler]